Sunday, 16 June 2013

Basic overview on the waxing and waning phases of the moon

A basic overview on the phases of the moon.

I have just decided to write a quick post on the basic phases of the moon. The simplest way of looking at the moon is to split the phases into four. I apologise to those of you who already know this but I'm thinking there will be some people who come across this blog for whom this might be useful information. Do let me know if there is any particular moon information you would like me to write about, I'm trying to delve into particular aspects on the affect that our moon has on our lives as I find it very fascinating!

The four phases our moon goes through may be seen to us as follows:
  • ·      It starts as a new moon when it can barely be seen in our sky.
  • ·      It then begins to grow which is called waxing.
  • ·      The moon then reaches it’s fullest point when it is perfectly round, this is a full moon.
  • ·      After this the moon appears to us to grow smaller, this is call waning.

All these different stages: full moon, waxing moon (growing), waning moon (diminishing) and new moon (when you can barely it in the sky) can have an effect on our moods and our wellbeing. We can use the phases of the moon in our daily lives and learn to live in tune with the moon. The new moon is perfect for starting new projects and new ventures. As the moon is waxing this is a perfect time for any sort of growth and nurturing in our lives. At the full moon we may feel that we have an excess of energy thus it is important to channel that energy into something useful. As the moon begins to wane we may find we become more introspective and mediative; we can use this time to look within and prepare for the next moon cycle.

If we care to look deeper into the moon's cycle we can see that it may be more precisely split into nine phases. These are the new moon when the moon is barely visible to us, the spark of our inspiration. We then move into the waxing crescent moon, bring life to new ideas, followed by the waxing half moon; a period of growth and opportunity. The last phase before the full moon is the gibbous moon, a time of expression; with the full moon bringing a fulfilment of plans and heightened energy.

The moon then begins to wane, firstly with the disseminating moon as we start to look inwards, followed by the waning half moon bringing transformation as a result of that reflection. The very last sliver of the moon that we see in the sky is called the balsamic moon, this is a perfect moon for letting go of all that no longer serves us. Lastly we have the dark of the moon when we see no moon at all. This moon is for understanding on a very deep level, assimilating all the knowledge that we have gained from our inward thinking during the waning moon.

Having a knowledge of the moon's cycles gives us an insight into how our natural instincts work. We can learn a lot by observing these and going with nature's natural rythyms. If we observe ourselves for example slowing down at the waning moon period we should allow ourselves the space to do that. Our bodies know what is right for us and we need to listen to what our bodies are telling us is right for us. We need that time of reflection and it will help us when the time comes to speed up again. By keeping in tune with lunar cycles in this way we will have happier, more fulfilled and more efficient lives.

Starlight and moonbeam blessings to you,